Happy birthday + circuit

So today it’s my birthday. 22, another year older. Do you ever stop to think about what you have achieved in the year? Was it what you expected, or are you setting yourself the same goals as before?

A birthday is about the celebration of you, who you are, what you have done and hope to achieve.

For me, I have continued to better myself in my chosen sport and loving it, while competition prep falls right over my birthday, and yes that meant last year for my 21st milestone birthday I got to eat carrot sticks and celery without a drop of alcohol, this doesn’t bother me as I enjoy the sport I do. This year I made my own birthday cake, and as many of you would know, I am a twin, therefore it is for her as well. I will post the recipe below for you, a baked White Chocolate and Raspberry cheesecake. The rest of the year has seen me enjoy an overseas holiday to America, gain sponsorship, increase my CleanTreats facebook following, begin blogging, and finally chosen to enrol in my PT course and diploma for business. I think its fair to say I am making the most of my time!

Today, I have spent my birthday what I would say nice and quiet. An early morning gym session with my dad, cardio and circuit training – which Unfortunately a resulted in my completed box jumps during the circuit, slipping and smashing my shin into the corner of the wooden box, at least I will be remembering this day for a couple of weeks. After my gym session, I completed my promise of helping a competitor with their posing, before heading home to a lovely bunch of flowers and a port and giftcard <3. I completed my standard meal prep, before heading out to a girlfriend who spoilt me with a new book to read and sone favouriteΒ peanut whittikers chocolate slab – for after the comp, of course. The rest of the day will be spent relaxing, watching orange is the new black, before headed to my parents for diner with my twin, and I will watch everyone eat lasagna and the cake I baked! Haha

so, this cake. If it were up to me, I would have had snickers, peanut butter and chocolate… But as I cannot eat it, my choice in the cake really doesn’t matter. When I asked my sister what cake she wanted she said she enjoys chocolate and raspberries. As I know there are some non coffee lovers I chose the combination of raspberry whit chocolate and what better way the a cheesecake, and baked of course.

I did have a few mishaps however. This mix makes a lot, so I made two small minis in addition to the one huge so keep this in mind for the recipe. Also, I opened the oven a little early to check on it, with cheesecakes, this is a no no if you don’t want the middle to sink during cooling. I did perhaps rectify this by at least along them to cool fully in the oven. To clean up the slightly sunken middle I simply whipped some cream for a topping. Easy!

White chocolate and raspberry baked cheesecake

White chocolate and raspberry baked cheesecake

ingredients

3 whole eggs
1c caster sugar
Tsp vanilla bean paste
2x cream cheese (500g) room temp
1xtub thickened cream 250ml
1x block of quality white chocolate
Frozen raspberries – about 1 cup
1 1/2 packets of chocolate ripple biscuits or other chocolate biscuit
250g melted butter
Quality raspberry sauce

1. Line a cake tray with baking paper and grease the base.
2. Set the oven to 180 degrees celsius
3. Blitz the chocolate ripple biscuits to a crumb and combine with the melted butter. Mix and press into the base and up the sides of the baking tray. Set aside
4. Whip the cream. Set aside.
5, in a large bowl cream the sugar and the cream cheese and vanilla and add an egg at a time. Don’t add the next egg until the first if full incorporated.
6. Once the eggs are in, add the cream and beat till just combined. Turn the mixer off, and melt your white chocolate in the microwave. Turn the mixer back onto low and mix the white chocolate in. Once done, fold your raspberries in. You can add a few more if you want.
7. Pour into your base mix, remember there may be to much mix!
8. Add some drips of the rasp berry sauce over the mix and using a skewer run it through to create a swirl.
9. Bake for approx. 45-50 mins and turn oven off, open the door slightly and allow to cool completely in the oven.

If it has sunk slightly, do as I did and simply whip some more cream – ripple some raspberry sauce through if you want, and top the cake with that and a dusting of cocoa. perfect πŸ™‚

White chocolate and raspberry baked cheesecake minis

White chocolate and raspberry baked cheesecake minis

The birthday circuit sessionΒ 
Complete this by setting up all stations.
Spend 1.5mins on each station before moving to the next after a 30 sec rest. Once you have been through the circuit once, break for 2mins then repeat. You should do three rounds.
The session is hard on both muscles and cardio. You do want it to be a resistance workout.
I used the following exercises in this order;
Squats-40kg
Medicine ball slams
DeadLifts -30kg
Clean and press-20kgs
Box jumps
Pushups

Β 

About nfrain

A passion for a healthy life, body and mind. A discussion of my experiences and thoughts with some tips and tricks along the way.
This entry was posted in Generic, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

