Twix Bars

I have been so busy lately, from jugging work, my own training, posing practice with the upcoming competitors, my general cooking that I love doing, extra training sessions, blogging, and my Dip ofBusiness requirements Β  and about to start my PT course. It has kept me very busy.

Sometimes i need to remind myself to slow down. It’s healthy to take a break, sit down an rest. I just need to break the habit I have created of filling every waking moment I have with something productive..

I started this Twix recipe yesterday morning when I made the brownie, that gave it enough time to cool completely, so I could come home and create the rest! I would also suggest making the shortbread early as well..or if you are time poor as that does add some preparationΒ time, buy some! But there is something special about homemade shortbread ;).

I think this is one of the best things I have ever made… It’s naughty though, please don’t get confused.

But I am unsure you can top a layer of chocolate brownie base, a shortbread cheesecake, caramel with a milk chocolate layer. So much deliciousness rolled into one. cakiness, with creaminess and chewy melt in your mouth. I will consume this myself in approx. 7 weeks, trust me, about a whole row of this went into the freezer.

I adopted this recipe from Chef in Training

Twix bars

Twix bars

 

So the Recipe;

Twix Slice

Ingredients
4 eggs
2tsp baking powder
1c softened butter
1c caster sugar
pinch salt
1/2c cocoa powder – extra dark
1 1/2c flour – plain
tsp vanilla bean paste

1/2 recipe of shortbread or 300g of crumbs – see below
1 pack of cream cheese

1can condensed milk
2tbsp golden syrup
pinch salt
2tbsp butter

1block milk or dark chocolate
2tbsp copha

Directions
1. Set the oven to 180 degrees celsius.
2. Line a slice tin – large
3. Cream the butter and sugar together in a large mixing bowl. Once creamed add your vanilla and eggs one at a time. add each egg as each one mixes in. Do not over beat. Add your dry ingredients gradually (so as not to cause a flour cloud!) and mix in, again do not over beat.
4. Pour into your lined tin and level out.
5. Cook for 20-25 minutes. Allow to cool completely before the next steps.

6. weigh out your 300g shortbread and process into a fine crumb. – see the shortbread recipe below.
7. Combine the shortbread with cream cheese and press out over the brownie base.
8. Place into the fridge till ready.

9. Make your caramel. Place a pot on a medium to high heat. Add your butter, condensed milk and golden syrup. Which constantly until a darker golden colour of caramel – this may take 5-10 minutes and will become more stuck together – you must continue to whisk, or you will burnt eh bottom.
10. Once ready, pour over your cheesecake layer and spread out evenly (roll the tray around).
11. place into the fridge till ready.
note: add salt if you wish to make the layer salted caramel!

12. Melt your chocolate and copha together then pour over the caramel layer.
13. Store in the fridge until the chocolate is just set before slicing.
14. Store in the fridge, but best eaten at just room temperature.

This makes so much and they are nice and tall too. Perfect for a morning tea or event!

The Shortbread
4c plain flour
2c butter – room temp
1c brown sugar
dash of water if required
1. cream your sugar and butter then add your flour, about a cup at a time.
2. Turn out onto your work surface and kneed for about 5 minutes to bring together.
3. Roll out – you will need to do this multiple times. and on a floured surface and with a floured rolling pin. roll to about 1/2cm thickness and use a cookie cutter and place onto a lined backing tray. – or like me, I used a measuring cup to cut as I don’t have a cookie cutter!
4. Bake for about 10 minutes on 180 degrees celsius
5. You will need multiple trays and this makes nearly 60 cookies of this size! You can make them thicker if you want, just need a longer baking time. Allow to cook before using int he above recipe. You will need about 25 cookies for the Twix recipe.

Twix Bars

Twix Bars

About nfrain

A passion for a healthy life, body and mind. A discussion of my experiences and thoughts with some tips and tricks along the way.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Treats. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Twix Bars

  1. Pingback: Twix Bar – Biscuit Base | journeythatislife

Leave a Reply

