HIIT – It begins

Me

Me

At some point during your competition prep, some type of cardio will be included into your preparation schedule. In the form of High intensity intervals, stair or hill climbs, incline walks, short duration or long duration. Each trainer will have their preferred method depending on your progress so far.

For me, that time is now.

I have been instructed to begin 1-2 High Intensity Interval Training sessions a week. Preferably after a weights session and if I can, separate the two sessions. Why? Because I am still a fatty! haha just kidding, normally cardio wouldn’t be an issue, especially if my goal was maintenance. But as I am now 10 weeks out, the preference to drop my body fat percentage a little faster earlier rather than later has been chosen. The reason for this is so that we don’t have to stress about dropping quickly at the end just before the competition. This is certainly preferable, I don’t want to be worrying about it.

My choice of cardio? 15minutes on the exercise bike. 30 seconds on, 1minute off. So intense. By the end of it, I am sweaty, gasping for breath and so glad it is over.

I am only doing a small amount of cardio in comparison to others. I don’t mind it though, it can be a nice change to the normal workout that I do. I doubt I could handle doing it for longer than 15 minutes though.

I have been told to do HIIT on the bike as it can be known to be effective in your fat lose, fitness and ensuring I do not waste away at the muscle I have built. Previously I have done stair climbs, incline walking and sprints. All equally as difficult as the other and I have obtained the required results from all.

Before I started my competitions, I trained primarily cardio, as many of us do with the belief that this is what would keep me skinny. But it seemed no matter how much cardio I would do the weight I wanted to move just wouldn’t. Once I started my competition preparation, cardio was removed. Since then, the times when I am directed to start it again the results are just what I want. My body reacts to the cardio as required and only a minimal amount is needed, wait loss is fast. It is proof that you do not need to be a slave to cardio to reduce the size of your waist line.

What is your favourite form of cardio? Is it your primary form of exercise, or do you only do it because you have too, or think it is the best option to get lean? Do you enjoy it, or is it a drag? Do you change your workout style a lot, and what results do you see from ding this?

I will let you know the results of my HIIT work. I am hoping to see good progress.

About nfrain

A passion for a healthy life, body and mind. A discussion of my experiences and thoughts with some tips and tricks along the way.
This entry was posted in Fitness Model, Generic, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

