Circuit Workout – a little cardio

As part of my competition prep I have now begun a ‘cardio’ type session once a week. This workout is not on a treadmill, bike or rower but is a circuit workout using compound exercises, weights to suit or just body weight and with a high intensity fast pace style.
I finish this puffed out, heart racing and sweaty even considering the near zero degree temperature in the gym I train in!
The purpose of this type of training and in high intensity aids to burn some body fat, whilst being the most beneficial to not burning off my muscle as well!
Plus, my trainer told me too, and I do as she says if I want the results.

The Workout
Each exercise is performed for 45 seconds – aim to get as many reps done in this time, it is meant to be hard. You can have a 15 second wait in between each exercise – so you will start on each minute. Once you complete the circuit, have one minute rest before you start again. Go through the circuit 6 times.

The exercises I chose:
Squats
clean and press
tricep dips
box jumps
push ups

You will be gasping for breath by the end of it.

About nfrain

A passion for a healthy life, body and mind. A discussion of my experiences and thoughts with some tips and tricks along the way.
This entry was posted in Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

