Cannot Sleep

Ah very tired. Don’t you just hate it when you don’t get a good nights sleep? You toss and turn, hot, cold, mind ticking over every irreverent thought you can imagine, then you need the toilet 2, 3 or 4 times. It can be excruciating, and the more you think about it, the more likely it will be that you will be lying there awake in another hour.

This was me last night. Unable to sleep and being my own sabotage at ever fulfilling that task.

Sometimes I can find it hard to sleep after a big long day, when I am so ridiculously tired that you would think sleep would come easy but instead the dull ache of your body keeps you wide awake. Sometimes certain events can leave me laying awake, perhaps a bad movie, an event that occurred during the day running through my head, as if thinking about it enough will change how it all panned out. Perhaps I have an important event coming up, and so what will happen (for example an upcoming comp) is at the forefront of my mind. If I am catching an early flight, then honestly there is no hope I will sleep well, for the anxiety to ensure I do not miss said flight is running through my head, along with the checklist of items requiring packing which naturally I have been through 20 times already.

It’s funny how your mind works and wont turn off.

After all of that, somehow, at some point I do eventually fall off to sleep. I have no recollection of what time that may have been but when I wake up I am thankful I did, it would have been a very long night if not.

Last night was a little different though, on top of not drifting to sleep in my usual 5-10 minutes I awoke constantly, 10pm, 12am, 2am, 5am and 6:30am (when I decided to just get up). Perhaps checking the time every time my eyes popped open wasn’t the smartest choice. I have read that the light from your smart phone, iPad and other technology does not aid in switching off your brain from working. Naturally we wake from the rising of the sun and light.

I do think I have a fairly sound procedure to get to bed and a routine. Dinner, a cup of tea before bed, bed and a read of my book, maybe some light music. But I guess when my brain wants to condense every possible thought it holds and bring it to my attention there is no stopping it.

So here’s to a drowsy day, and hopefully a reason to get to bed early tonight.
Coffee, where are you?

About nfrain

A passion for a healthy life, body and mind. A discussion of my experiences and thoughts with some tips and tricks along the way.
This entry was posted in Generic and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

