Fig and Orange Cheesecake

Ah rest day, a day where I can relax, put my feet up, and enjoy a day to myself, getting things I want done and not being dictated by a workout.

It’s nice sometimes to break the routine, sleep in and take it easy. Not to mention the benefits it has on your body in terms of destressing, relaxation and recovery.

your body needs this time to build itself back up. I choose my rest day to be either a saturday or sunday. Sunday being my preference before another busy week starts.

Fig and Orange Cheesecake

Fig and Orange Cheesecake

So today I got busy making a Spiced Fig and Orange cheesecake for dessert tonight at mum and dads house. I wont be enjoying it, but I love my baking and I know it will all be eaten when I have my family to share it with.

This recipe is inspired from the Womens Weekly BAKE cookbook. I have made a few additions to suit what I think will work.

Now, as it cools in the oven the house is filled with a rich spice and nutty aroma, of what I can only imagine will be the flavours hitting your taste buds once you try some of this cheesecake. I choose this combination due tot he time of year, something about spices just seems warming, and to avoid an overly sweet dessert that is so often served up. It will still be sweet don’t get me wrong, but without the addition of the extra sweet fruits like cranberries, or the added flavouring like white chocolate, I think this will prevent it being overpowering.

Cheesecakes are funny things, I know in the past I have had disastrous attempts. Only the other week I made my Turkish Delight no bake chesecake on my first attempt I overpowered it with ‘rose’ syrup. This was from lack of experience in the use of Rose, my second attempt was far more enjoyable. Sometimes I have made them and found them to sink right down aft r being baked – A common mistake if you open the oven during cooking too much, remove from the oven straight after the cooking time or allow to cool to quickly. These mistakes can also cause cracking through the top – a common mistake and one easily avoided, but don’t worry, this mistake doesn’t compromise the flavour.

Fig and Orange Cheesecake

Fig and Orange Cheesecake

A baked cheesecake I think is a wonderful dessert, a firm texture but a silky melt in your mouth filling, serve with a choice of ice-cream, cream, and berries you can’t really go wrong. The standard base recipe of a cheesecake can be altered so much with filling to suit your taste; berries, fruit, chocolate, spices, citrus, nuts, etc let your imagination run wild with the things you enjoy.

Fig and Orange Cheesecake

Fig and Orange Cheesecake

Now, the recipe;

Fig and Orange Cheesecake
base
130g plain coffee biscuits
80g Brazil nuts – or alternative
125g butter melted
1tbsp honey

Fig filling
250g dried figs – you could also add dates
pinch of clove
pinch of cinnamon
2tsp icing sugar
2tbsp brown sugar
1tbsp maple
1c orange juice – pulp free

Cheesecake
250g cream cheese room temperature
1tub (250g) mascarpone cheese
tsp vanilla
1c castor sugar
2 egg yolks
2 egg whites
zest of 1 orange

Directions
first, set your oven to 160 degrees celsius. Line a standard sized baking tray. set aside
In a food processor blend your Brazil nuts and coffee biscuits to a fine crumb. Melt your honey and butter together and combine well. Press into your baking tray and set aside.
Make your fig filling. Over a medium heat add all your ingredients and simmer for 10 minutes or until the liquid has been adsorbed. Pour over your base.
Make your cheesecake. place everything except the egg yolks and whites into you mix master and blend till smooth. add your yolks one at a time and blend till incorporated. Do not over beat. Stop the mixer and blend your egg whites separately. Fold into your cheesecake mix. Pour your Cheesecake mix over the fig filling and place straight into the oven for 1hr-1hr 15mins or until no longer liquid in the centre. Turn off the oven and leave the door slightly agar, cool completely in the oven before removing.
Serve – with vanilla ice-Cream.

Fig and Orange Cheesecake

Fig and Orange Cheesecake

served

served

About nfrain

A passion for a healthy life, body and mind. A discussion of my experiences and thoughts with some tips and tricks along the way.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Treats and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fig and Orange Cheesecake

  1. Love the combination here. Sounds fabulous.

Leave a Reply

