Caramel slice – the naughty kind

The other night my partner asked me to make him something for his morning tea today, as he is a teacher they sometimes have morning teas and each staff member brings something along. So he asked me to put something together, I don’t like to decide as it’s not me eating it, so his request was caramel slice!
I have made this so many times, and the last time I went to make it was also for his staff morning tea, but for some reason I rushed it that time. I put it into the fridge to set but left it to long, so the chocolate was rock solid and would smoosh the inside filling as I tried to cut it, out of frustration I thought why not warm it in the microwave to soften the chocolate. Well it wasn’t the chocolate that softened first, it was the buttery biscuit base! Therefore I ended up with a gooey mess with a solid chocolate top, I was so angry and it looked terrible compared to my normal attempts so I would not allow him to take it. So my partner had to resort to a supermarket purchase for his morning tea contribution. Now I think back I should have just left it out on the bench to soften a bit and with a steaming hot knife it would have been fine, but I am not known for my patience.
So please take note of my above mistake.
Of course it still tasted great, but presentation wise was disastrous.

Caramel Slice

Caramel Slice

The recipe
Base ingredients
1c plain flour
1/2c brown sugar
1 1/2 tbsp. cocoa
125g butter melted
3/4c desiccated coconut

Filling ingredients
1x 400g can of condensed milk
2-3tbsp golden syrup
1-2tbsp butter

Topping ingredients
125g milk or dark choc
60g coconut oil – or copha

Directions
Preheat your oven to 180.
line a casserole dish or brownie tin with baking paper.
melt your butter and combine with all your base ingredients, press into your lined baking dish and place into the oven for about 20 mins. Remove and allow to cool while you make your filling.
turn your hot plate onto medium heat and add your ingredients into the pot, do not leave unattended, it will burn. Whisk continuously for about 8-10 minutes until golden.
Pour over your base mix and place back into the oven for about 15 minutes or until the top is golden – after 10 mins keep watch to prevent burning!
Remove from oven and allow to cool.
Make your topping. Personally I just do this in the microwave, but you can do it over a water bath to ensure it doesn’t cook the chocolate! Melt the two together and pour over your filling mix.
You can allow to cook on the bench if you like – this make take a while, or speed up the process by using the fridge or freezer! Allow the chocolate to just set, them remove from your tray and slice with a sharp knife into desired sizes.
Best stored in the fridge in an airtight container, and if doubling up lay baking paper over the bottom layer to prevent sticking together.

My favourite parts? The edges! where the caramel goes a bit chewy, but you still get the soft centre as well.. so if you are serving this to look pretty for presentation, remove the edges, but save them so you can enjoy them later! πŸ˜€

Caramel Slice

Caramel Slice

About nfrain

A passion for a healthy life, body and mind. A discussion of my experiences and thoughts with some tips and tricks along the way.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Snacks, Treats and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

