Homemade sausage rolls

Tonight I made these homemade sausage rolls! And while I can’t eat them, I do still enjoy cooking up tasty dinners for Sean! I have made these before but to be honest until now have never recorded a recipe. So tonight I did, so I could share it with you!

I am generally time poor now I train in the evenings often not getting home till about 7pm. So to speed up the process I made the mixture this morning so all I had to do was turn on the oven, roll them into the pasty, and away they go!

homemade sausage rolls

homemade sausage rolls

The recipe

50g mince meat – I used beef/pork mix

1 grated carrot

1tbsp olive oil

1-2 eggs

1 diced onion

1-2tsp minced garlic

salt and pepper

tsp herb mix – I used a pasta herb mix but italian herb and spices will work great!

2tbsp tomato paste

1c breadcrumbs

1tbsp Worcestershire sauce

2tbsp soy sauce

milk – for wash

three sheets puff pastry

sesame seeds – optional.

First, turn on your oven to 180degrees!

If you keep your pastry in the freezer, take out to thaw.

Combine all your ingredients into a large bowl and combine well. If you need to get your hands into this part go for it!

Devide mixture into three parts.

Mold out into a sausage shape and place onto your pastry and roll your pastry over – you don’t want to much overlapping so you will have to trim your pastry to size. pinch the pastry together at the join and place the join on the underside of the sausage roll.

Repeat with remaining mix and pastry.

Slice each roll into 4 smaller sausage rolls and score the top of the pastry. baste the pastry with milk and sprinkle over the sesame seeds. Place all rolls onto a lined baking tray and place into the oven.

Cook for 20-25mins till golden and cooked through – test by taking one out and cutting open!

yum!

About nfrain

A passion for a healthy life, body and mind. A discussion of my experiences and thoughts with some tips and tricks along the way.
This entry was posted in Mains and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade sausage rolls

  1. Pingback: Foods – I love | journeythatislife

Leave a Reply

