Dairy Free Pumpkin Pie Recipe

Dairy Free Pumpkin Pie

Dairy Free Pumpkin Pie

So, last night some of Sean and my Friends came over, and one of them is dairy free.

Now, not an issue at all just a little more thought had to go in to dinner and dessert.

I am used to my own restrictions, particular when I am dieting, but when it came to someone elses, this minor requirement had me thinking.

Main was easy, a lamb ragu with pasta.

Dessert – well, all of us have been to the US, and the two of them are going for their honey moon in April 2015 and we car invited to tag along, so I thought what about pumpkin pie!? It is a mean, like peanut butter pie, large cuts of slow cooked meats, oversized meals and bagels that I just associate with the US.  So I thought we could all reminisce of our past trips, and get excited at the idea of it by having a yummy pumpkin pie!

Last time i made this, I used this recipe. This one had condensed milk, which i initially didn’t click about the content of milk in condensed milk! So I then clicked and realised I had to tweak my recipe to suit. And you know what? It worked perfectly, and everyone loved it! I’m not sure which was better – the condensed milk and cream version or the more healthy option that was tonight’s dessert.

 

Dairy Free Pumpkin Pie

Dairy Free Pumpkin Pie

Pumpkin Pie Recipe

The dairy free crust

200g flour

1 egg

2tbsp of sugar

4tbsp olive oil

1/4c-1/2c water

extra flour to roll and dust.

Combine everything in a food processor – only up to 1/4c water to start with. Add additional water to bind if required. Flour your work surface and rolling-pin and roll out to fit your cake/tart tin. Transfer to your tray and blind bake for 10-12 minutes. set aside until required. I made mine an hr in advance.

Dairy Free Pie Crust

Dairy Free Pie Crust

For the Pumpkin Pie Filling

400g cooked pumpkin

1c almond milk

2tbsp cornflour

tbsp cinnamon

2tbsp olive oil

tsp nutmeg

1/2tsp cloves

1/2tsp ginger

first cook your pumpkin in a 180degree oven until tender – sprinkle additional brown sugar over the pumpkin when you roast it to Caramelise. I roast mine with the skin on, i find it easier to peel away one cooked and tended. Once cooked remove from the oven and allow to cook first. Then add everything to a blender – blend the pumpkin first before adding everything else. Blend everything until a smooth consistency and pour into your blind baked pie crust. place back into the oven and cook for 35-40minutes or until the middle is set (only a slight jiggle).  Take out from the oven and allow to cool before slicing and serving warm cream, ice-cream or alternative.

About nfrain

A passion for a healthy life, body and mind. A discussion of my experiences and thoughts with some tips and tricks along the way.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Healthy Meals and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dairy Free Pumpkin Pie Recipe

  1. Oh yes! I needed this!! I can’t digest anything dairy!

Leave a Reply

