Having Focus

Having Focus

There’s not point starting anything in a half-hearted mindset.

This will only lead you to do a half heated job, take longer then required and finish disappointed that it wasn’t your best effort.

Focus is the key to staying on task, achieving your goal and getting it done.

I’m sure we have all started something where we have lost sight of why we started, where we are wishing it was over or rushing to get the rob done taking whatever shortcut is possible? To stay focused, adopt some of these ideas;

  • Have a firm goal in mind – do you want to an A on that assignment, or compete on stage in 12 weeks?
  • Have reminders of what that goal will mean to you – perhaps it means entry into your chosen degree, for a competition have images of those on stage that inspire you.
  • Have a time frame – the two chosen examples demonstrate how a timeframe is set. If you say something is going to happen in two years, it might, but you should have mini goals to meet your one big goal to help maintain your focus
  • Think about it, every time you start a project that relates or feel yourself getting off task – that A grade wont come by leaving that assignment to the last-minute, and you wont look you best on stage if you sneak extra nuts into your meals.
  • Track your progress – this will help you stay focused, for that A grade have your work pre marked, for getting on stage, have regular check ups to see where you are at.
  • Get excited –nothing helps staying focused then being excited about the end result, and wanting it bad. It will mean your achievement will be even greater at the end with all the build up to it.

 

For me, I practice some of these concepts when I train – I always have my large goal – getting on stage at nationals as an improvement of my previous performance. My mini goals are my sessions, my weekly measurements etc. For my sessions I have a focus on a certain body part whether it be arms, legs, back, chest or shoulders and I make sure I target them as best I can, aiming for improvement each time. That way when I complete my session I feel as though I have progressed towards my final focus and goal. My goal has a timeframe, it has checkpoints and I am passionate about it that I can’t wait for it to happen. I have my instagram account which I can follow those I admire and constantly look at previous competition photos of myself as reminder of what I achieved and hope to build on.

 

Today my Mini goal was my leg workout and the main focus was on targeting my hamstrings.

  • Leg extensions – 2 sets – 10 slow and 10 fast -warm up
  • Leg Extensions – 5 sets – reps 15, 12, 10, 8,8
  • Reverse lunges – 4 sets of 10 reps each leg
  • Squats – 1 drop set
  • Leg press – 4 sets – 10reps toes over the top, 10 reps normal stance
  • Dead lifts – 5 sets – reps 15, 12, 10, 8, 8
  • Laying Hamstring Curls – 2 sets – triple increasing sets 8 reps on each increase
  • Laying hamstring curls – 2 sets – triple drop sets, 8 reps each decrease
  • Donkey Kickbacks – 2 sets each leg – drop sets, 12 reps each drop.
About nfrain

A passion for a healthy life, body and mind. A discussion of my experiences and thoughts with some tips and tricks along the way.
This entry was posted in Fitness Model, legs, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

