A Ticking Timebomb – Emotions

Daily Prompt; Unsafe Containers – Which emotion(s) — joy, envy, rage, pity, or something else — do you find to be the hardest to contain?

Since starting in the fitness industry and competitions, my day, week and months revolve around control. I am in control of when I eat, go to bed, what I eat, how hard I train, how often I train and my end result.

Being in control suits me just fine, its how I like to be. I want to know that the results I got were because I was discipline enough to make sacrifices and doing what others couldn’t.

So when emotions get the better of me, it shows me lack of control, and I don’t like it.

I prefer to keep my cards close to my chest, choosing to share these on my own terms. When emotions get the better of me, this prevents this from happening.

When I let them take over, I feel a sense of regret after the emotional outbreak. It makes me questions why I let said issue bother me, that generally it was an overreaction and has now caused me embarrassment.

We can’t prevent all emotional blow ups, but we can practice principles to help prevent them spiralling out of control. For example, questioning whether the issue is really one worth acting upon, allowing a nights sleep or a full day before addressing an issue meaning you can take the time to calm down, using envy as a motivator to make yourself like those you are jealous of, or to be wary your uncontrollable happiness may not be welcomed by others if their day hasn’t quiet gone to plan.

I know it’s easier said then done to put preventative measures in place, especially when you’re at the peak of an emotional high or low.

sometimes, the situation just calls for the top to blow off the emotional body that is you.

After all, it can make you feel a lot better once you let it out.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/?blogsub=confirmed#blog_subscription-4

About nfrain

A passion for a healthy life, body and mind. A discussion of my experiences and thoughts with some tips and tricks along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

